The zodiac with its twelve-known character is the most important symbolic structure in astrology, both pure form and content. All calculations, either the planet or the houses are based on him and start any deeper understanding of astrology must be with him. The zodiac corresponds to the apparent astronomical annual orbit of the sun around the earth, the ecliptic. The apparent orbit of the sun round the earth Zodiac sign.

Here, the sun’s always the same zodiac sign (outer circle, Figure 19). This sign have the same names as our zodiac signs, but are not identical. The astrological zodiac begins with the spring or Aries point (0 ° Aries, that spot on the ecliptic where the Sun is the time of the vernal equinox about 4000 years ago fell this point even with the beginning of Aries -. In this time also the names of the zodiacal sections through the correspondence seasons with the positions of the sun in front of the constellations through a very lengthy and complicated celestial mechanics process -. precession – is the first point of Aries (in the left extended horizontal line of Figure) today at the end of the constellation Pisces. In this figure, the sun in the zodiac sign of Capricorn, while they are in the sky in the constellation Sagittarius is. The astrological zodiac is divided into four equal seasons quadrant, these in turn into three sections to accurately 30 °. All the signs of the zodiac horoscope factors are projected onto the zodiac as a loop of their positions.

This is for practical astrology none is (Cast (in Indian astrology (Jyotish) are still the “true” positions of horoscope factors against the background of the zodiac into account along the ecliptic.)) Because it is not oriented to the constellations but to the seasonal changes which bring the movement of the sun throughout the year with it. It is important to understand that the astrological zodiac signs have nothing to do with the same star images – these were only the inspiration for the naming!

Zodiac and the seasons

The orbit of the sun is divided into four equal sections, beginning with the seasonal changes, while four conspicuous stations of the solar year with respect to mark the height of the sun above the horizon and the length of day and night (see picture):

1. Spring Equinox (around 21.3.) Day and night are equally long, but now the days are getting longer than the nights.
2. Summer solstice (around 22.6.): The longest day and shortest night.
3. Autumn Equinox (around 23.8.): Day and night are equally long, but now the nights are getting longer as the days.
4. Winter Solstice (around 21.12): The longest night and shortest day.

These four major sections which correspond with the seasons, each divided into three equal sections – the zodiac.